“Why do we have to listen to our hearts?” the boy asked.

“Because, wherever your heart is, that is where you will find your treasure.”

― Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

I never quite believed in a such thing as ‘destiny’, as in that everything we do is already planned. However, recently I have been finding a lot of evidence to suggest that some things, inside my heart, have always been guiding me towards my path. I was never aware enough to listen, but now I am beginning to understand. Whether you want to call it a mission, or a purpose, the concept is the same. There is something more than this ordinary life.

The clues to your life purpose are stored in your heart. It is absolutely necessary to listen to what it is telling you; it will guide you. Everything you love, no matter how small, is for a reason. That could be places, languages, numbers, animals, anything. You will feel that you have always been pulled towards these things. That is because they are part of your destiny, if you allow yourself to follow that pull. There are no coincidences in life. Yes, we can go astray. We can make wrong choices and end up very far away from any meaning or purpose. But if we choose to be true to ourselves, there is guidance. I do not mean magical signs that appear telling you what to do. I mean love in your heart for certain things. That is who you really are.

Your journey will lead you to your destiny. The lessons you learn will give you strength, not destruction. Only this way can you become the best version of yourself.

I do not look for a secret to always be happy. I want to feel instead, to be real, without being afraid of those feelings. I do not seek an answer that will make life perfect, but rather a strategy to cope with its imperfection. I want to learn to bend with the twists of life, not force life to be a straight line. There are no straight lines, squares or perfect circles in nature.

Cambodia9

Beauty is in contrast, not in perfection.

Always listen to the heart. Maybe the mind can comprehend what it is saying, but it cannot touch it. What is in the heart is too deep to be reached.

